RAF Abbreviations

RAF Squadron Blocks

* After the First World War, squadrons of the Royal Naval Air Service RNAS were inducted into the newly formed RAF, and were renumbered into the 200 numeral slots. Example – No 2 RNAS squadron became No 202 RAF Squadron.

**510-539 (including 161 Squadron) were special duties squadrons.

​*** The prefix ‘Royal’ was attached to the Auxilliary Air Force on 16 Dec 1947, in recognition for its wartime services.

**** These were the AOP (Aerial Observation Post) squadrons equipped with Auster light observation planes.

† These Royal Navy squadrons were not part of the RAF. This block is provided for completion.


Find my other work here. The art displayed on this site can be downloaded from my blog.

  • WordPress-logo
  • To Instagram

The obligatory Instagram profile